Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

Click each member's photo to see a full biography.

AOA Officers

2018-2019

President
Samuel D. Pierce, O.D.
Alabama  

SDPierce@aoa.org

President-Elect
Barbara L. Horn, O.D.
South Carolina
BLHorn@aoa.org

Vice President
William T. Reynolds, O.D.
Kentucky
WReynolds@aoa.org

Secretary-Treasurer
Robert C. Layman, O.D.
Ohio  
RLayman@aoa.org

 

Immediate Past President Christopher J. Quinn, O.D.
New Jersey
CJQuinn@aoa.org

AOA Trustees

2018-2019

Lori L. Grover, O.D., Ph.D.

Lori L. Grover, O.D., Ph.D.
Illinois

James P. DeVleming, O.D.
Washington
JDeVleming@aoa.org

Ronald L. Benner, O.D.  
Montana
RBenner@aoa.org

Steven T. Reed, O.D.
Mississippi
SReed@aoa.org
 

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D.
Colorado
JBowen@aoa.org
 

Fred Farias, O.D.
Texas
FFarias@aoa.org