Board of Trustees

A House of Delegates and an 11-member Board of Trustees govern the American Optometric Association. The House is comprised of affiliated association representatives, optometrists in Federal service, District of Columbia, and optometric students. It meets at AOA's annual Optometry's Meeting® to:

  • Conduct AOA business
  • Establish AOA policy
  • Elect officers and trustees to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of six trustees plus these officers: President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. It is empowered to conduct AOA business when the House is not in session.

Click each member's photo to see a full biography.

AOA Officers

2017-2018

President

Christopher J. Quinn, O.D.
New Jersey  
CJQuinn@aoa.org

President-Elect

Samuel D. Pierce, O.D.
Alabama
SDPierce@aoa.org

Vice President

Barbara L. Horn, O.D.   
South Carolina
BLHorn@aoa.org

Secretary-Treasurer

William T. Reynolds, O.D.
Kentucky
WTReynolds@aoa.org
 

Immediate Past President

Andrea P. Thau, O.D
New York
APThau@aoa.org
 

AOA Trustees

2017-2018

Robert C. Layman, O.D.
Ohio  
RLayman@aoa.org

James P. DeVleming, O.D.
Washington
JDevleming@aoa.org

Ronald L. Benner, O.D.  
Montana
RBenner@aoa.org

Steven T. Reed, O.D.
Mississippi
SReed@aoa.org
 

Jacqueline Bowen, O.D.
Colorado
JBowen@aoa.org
 

Fred Farias, O.D.
Texas
FFarias@aoa.org