American Optometric Association Officers and Trustees Sworn in at Optometry's Meeting 2015

St. Louis, Mo. (June 30, 2015)—Leaders of the American Optometric Association (AOA) were sworn in to office on June 27, during the 118th Annual AOA Congress & 44th Annual AOSA Conference: Optometry's Meeting® in Seattle, Washington. 

The Board of Trustees helps establish AOA policy and advocates for the profession of optometry, both in state and federal governments, to help broaden optometry's scope of practice, protect and defend the profession, and expand citizens' access to quality eye health and vision care. 

Here are the members of the 2015-2016 Board of Trustees:

President: Steven A. Loomis, O.D., Colorado 
President-Elect: Andrea P. Thau, O.D., New York 
Vice President: Christopher J. Quinn, O.D., New Jersey
Secretary-Treasurer: Samuel D. Pierce, O.D., Alabama
Immediate Past President: David A. Cockrell, O.D., Oklahoma

Gregory A. Caldwell, O.D., Pennsylvania (continuing to serve)
Barbara L. Horn, O.D., Michigan (continuing to serve)
Robert C. Layman, O.D., Ohio (continuing to serve)
William T. Reynolds, O.D., Kentucky (re-elected) 
James P. DeVleming, O.D., Washington (re-elected)
Ronald L. Benner, O.D., Montana (newly elected)

To learn more about the Board of Trustees, visit Recaps of Optometry's Meeting 2015 are also available on the AOA's news website,