2017 Award Recipients


Paraoptometric of the Year
Sally Greeley, CPOT, Maine
Sally Greeley, CPOT
Immediate Past President Andrea P. Thau, O.D., with Sally Greeley, CPOT
Sally Greeley, CPOT, of Maine, received the Paraoptometric of the Year award in June at Optometry's Meeting®. Sally has been working in eye care for over 30 years and has held her CPOT certification since 2003. Her service to the paraoptometric profession includes numerous volunteer roles and leadership titles at the regional, state and national level. In 2004, she was named Maine's Paraoptometric of the Year. Sally is an active AOA volunteer and is currently vice-chair of the Commission on Paraoptometric Certification, co-chair of the Certification Exam Committee, chair of the Coding and Billing Committee, and a member of the Test Review Committee. Join us in congratulating Sally!

Bridgeway Award
Maine (Accepted by Heather Tibbetts, CPOT)

From left, Beverly Roberts, Heather Tibbetts and Erlinda Rodriguez
The Bridgeway Awards encourages communication between the state paraoptometric associations and the AOA Paraoptometric Resource Center. This year, Maine accumulated the most points for actively collaborating with the Paraoptometric Resource Center. Heather Tibbetts, CPOT, President of the Maine Paraoptometric Association, accepted a plaque on the state's behalf from Kevin Roe, O.D., Alcon director, professional affairs, optometry and professional organizations.

Community Service Award
Anna Martinez
Anna Martinez
Anna Martinez
Congratulations to Anna Martinez, who has received the 2017 Community Service Award. Anna is a paraoptometric at the Gillette Optometric Clinic in Gillette, Wyoming. As the recipient of the award, Anna received a check for $100 and a plaque. Additionally, $100 was awarded to Anna's charity of choice, CASA for the Sixth Judicial District of Gillette, Wyoming.  Please join us in congratulating Anna on this achievement!